Users: Difference between revisions
(I added a bunch of new content, including several links.) |
No edit summary |
||
| Line 47: | Line 47: | ||
'''NOTE''': You can’t create a new permission group in this section. Only ones that have been previously saved in the [[Permissions|'''Permissions''' module]] will be displayed. | '''NOTE''': You can’t create a new permission group in this section. Only ones that have been previously saved in the [[Permissions|'''Permissions''' module]] will be displayed. | ||
=== Location based permissions === | |||
{{Image|2|Users}} | |||
Location based permissions allow you to customize which location each user has access to. Below are some examples of ways that these permissions could be configured. | |||
* Access to see all inventory for all bin locations assigned to the warehouse locations the user belongs to | |||
* Access to any purchase orders and sales orders assigned to the warehouse locations | |||
* Access to create purchase orders and sales orders for your assigned warehouse locations | |||
* Access reports that are automatically filtered by your warehouse locations | |||
* Access to perform inventory adjustments for only your assigned warehouse locations (add inventory, move inventory, cycle count inventory up or down) | |||
* Prevent inventory being moved in and out of a warehouse location that a user doesn't have access to | |||
* Assign reorder points and location defaults for your assigned warehouse locations | |||
* You could have a 3PL give their clients access to log into Fishbowl Drive and only see their assigned warehouse details | |||
=== Action bar in a user profile === | === Action bar in a user profile === | ||
Latest revision as of 08:50, 2 November 2024
- The Users module allows users to be created and modified.
- To create a new user, click the
New button. Each existing user is displayed in the search area on the left.
Main section
The main section of the Users module contains information about each user that has been created, and it is organized under the following column headers:
- First Name - Each user’s first (or given) name.
- Last Name - Each user’s last name (or surname).
- Timezone - The timezone that each user operates within. This can help you coordinate schedules between users living in different parts of the U.S. or in other countries.
- Default Location - The parent location that each user operates out of. This helps you know which location they can personally perform warehouse tasks at, e.g., picking, receiving, and shipping.
- Date Created - The month, day, and year (MM/DD/YYYY) each user was created.
- Date Last Modified - The month, day, and year (MM/DD/YYYY) a change to each user’s profile was most-recently saved.
Action bar
The action bar in the main section of the Users module contains two buttons:
- More - Click Change Dates to bring up two options you can change the date in the header to:
- Date Created - A permanent marker that denotes when a user was first saved and added to the system.
- Date Last Modified - A changeable marker that denotes the most-recent date that a user’s profile was changed and saved.
- ADD NEW - Launches the New User page to create a new one.
NOTE: You can’t delete a user from the main section of the Users module. You can only do that by opening a user’s profile and then clicking the DELETE button in its action bar.
How to create a new user
In order to create a user, you will need to have at least one additional user that is in your contract for Fishbowl Drive.
Click the ADD NEW button in the action bar of the main section of the Users module. Then fill out the following fields. Required fields are marked by an asterisk:
- First Name* - A textbox to enter the user’s first (or given) name, e.g., David.
- Last Name* - A textbox to enter the user’s last name (or surname), e.g., Smith.
- Phone Number - A textbox to enter the user’s phone number.
- Phone Type - A dropdown menu to select the type of phone number the user has:
- Mobile
- Office
- Home
- Email* - A textbox to enter the user’s email address.
- Timezone* - A dropdown menu that lets you choose the timezone that the user operates within. Keep in mind that this doesn’t change automatically to reflect the beginning or end of Daylight Savings. So this will have to be manually modified to reflect the hour difference when that happens.
- Default Location* - A dropdown menu to select a parent location the user operates out of. You can create a new address by entering a name for the address into the textbox and hitting Enter or clicking the + Add option. The New Location wizard will appear, and you can fill out all the fields in that wizard to add a new location to the user. The name you entered will appear in the Name field.
Permissions
The Permissions section under the textboxes above enables you to add the user to existing permission groups. Every permission group you have created in the Permissions module is listed in this section.
Click the checkbox next to a permission group to add the user to it. You can click multiple checkboxes if you like. This saves time because you don’t have to go to the Permissions module to add this user to one of the permission groups in it. Instead, they’re all helpfully listed in the Users module.
If you don’t click any checkbox, the user will not be able to access any modules within Fishbowl Drive. So it’s a good idea to add them to at least one permission group before you finish creating the user.
NOTE: You can’t create a new permission group in this section. Only ones that have been previously saved in the Permissions module will be displayed.
Location based permissions
Location based permissions allow you to customize which location each user has access to. Below are some examples of ways that these permissions could be configured.
- Access to see all inventory for all bin locations assigned to the warehouse locations the user belongs to
- Access to any purchase orders and sales orders assigned to the warehouse locations
- Access to create purchase orders and sales orders for your assigned warehouse locations
- Access reports that are automatically filtered by your warehouse locations
- Access to perform inventory adjustments for only your assigned warehouse locations (add inventory, move inventory, cycle count inventory up or down)
- Prevent inventory being moved in and out of a warehouse location that a user doesn't have access to
- Assign reorder points and location defaults for your assigned warehouse locations
- You could have a 3PL give their clients access to log into Fishbowl Drive and only see their assigned warehouse details
Action bar in a user profile
Once you have entered all of the information you want about the user, be sure to save your work. You can do this by using the buttons in the action bar. The following buttons are in the action bar of a user profile:
- SAVE - This saves the user to the system and lets you stay.
- SAVE AND CLOSE - This saves the user to the system and returns you to the main section of the Users module where you will see all of your saved users.
- DELETE - This opens a popup for you to delete the user (after they have been saved) by clicking the red DELETE button on the bottom-right of the popup.
- X - This closes the user profile without saving. If there are unsaved changes, a message will ask if you want to save before closing.
How to delete a user
To delete a user, click their line item in the main section of the Users module, and then click the DELETE button in its action bar. Clicking this button brings up a message asking you to confirm your decision. Click the red DELETE button to complete this process.
How to change your password
You can change your Fishbowl Drive password by entering your user profile from the main section of the Users module. Then click the Change Password link under the textboxes.
After you save your new password, you will need to use it the next time you log into Fishbowl Drive.

