Permissions: Difference between revisions

From Fishbowl Drive
m (I changed Create to Commit in one place.)
m (→‎Permissions tab: I added the Margin report to the list of reports that aren't found in the Permissions module. That will hopefully change soon.)
 
(3 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 54: Line 54:
*** [[Integrations#Stripe|Payments]]
*** [[Integrations#Stripe|Payments]]
** '''Accounting''' - Enables the viewing and editing of accounting [[classes]] and either your [[QuickBooks Online]] or [[Xero]] account.
** '''Accounting''' - Enables the viewing and editing of accounting [[classes]] and either your [[QuickBooks Online]] or [[Xero]] account.
** View
*** View
** Edit
*** Edit
* '''Materials''' - Selects every feature in the [[Items|'''Items''' module]] and [[Inventory|'''Inventory''' module]].
* '''Materials''' - Selects every feature in the [[Items|'''Items''' module]] and [[Inventory|'''Inventory''' module]].
** '''Items''' - Selects every feature in the [[Items|'''Items''' module]].
** '''Items''' - Selects every feature in the [[Items|'''Items''' module]].
Line 128: Line 128:
*** [[Receiving#Fulfill|Fulfill]]
*** [[Receiving#Fulfill|Fulfill]]
*** [[Receiving#Items section|Modify Receipt Item Location]]
*** [[Receiving#Items section|Modify Receipt Item Location]]
*** [[Receiving#Reject|Reject]]
*** [[Receiving#Reject|Item Reject]]
*** [[Receiving#Receive wizard (individual item)|Item Receive]]
*** [[Receiving#Receive wizard (individual item)|Item Receive]]
*** [[Receiving#Fulfill wizard (individual item)|Item Fulfill]]
*** [[Receiving#Fulfill wizard (individual item)|Item Fulfill]]
Line 147: Line 147:
*** [[Users|Create]]
*** [[Users|Create]]
*** Delete
*** Delete
** '''Permission Groups''' - Selects every feature in the [[Permissions|'''Permissions''' module]].
** '''Permission Groups''' - Selects every feature in the '''Permissions''' module.
*** View
*** View
*** Edit
*** Edit
Line 220: Line 220:
** '''[[Reorder Report|Reorder]]''' - This report appears in the '''Inventory''' module.
** '''[[Reorder Report|Reorder]]''' - This report appears in the '''Inventory''' module.


'''NOTE:''' The following reports are not currently on the list of individual access rights: [[Barcode Report|Barcode]], [[Inventory Event History Report|Inventory Event History]], [[Item Barcode Label Report|Item Barcode Label]], [[Item Barcode One Off Report|Item Barcode One Off]], [[Location Barcode Report|Location Barcode]], [[On Hand By Expiration Report|On Hand By Expiration]], [[Purchase Order Summary Report|Purchase Order Summary]], and [[Sales Order Summary Report|Sales Order Summary]]. These can be accessed by clicking the main '''Reports''' checkbox. This enables all reports to be accessed by users in the permission group, even though they are not listed individually.
'''NOTE:''' The following reports are not currently on the list of individual access rights: [[Barcode Report|Barcode]], [[Inventory Event History Report|Inventory Event History]], [[Item Barcode Label Report|Item Barcode Label]], [[Item Barcode One Off Report|Item Barcode One Off]], [[Location Barcode Report|Location Barcode]], [[Margin Report|Margin]], [[On Hand By Expiration Report|On Hand By Expiration]], [[Purchase Order Summary Report|Purchase Order Summary]], and [[Sales Order Summary Report|Sales Order Summary]]. These can be accessed by clicking the main '''Reports''' checkbox. This enables all reports to be accessed by users in the permission group, even though they are not listed individually.


===Permission group action bar===
===Permission group action bar===

Latest revision as of 08:41, 22 March 2024

FBO Permissions 1.png

  • The Permissions module is found under the Setup module group in the side nav of Fishbowl Drive.
  • The Permissions module allows permission groups to be created to quickly give a user a set of permissions.
  • To create a new permission group, click the FBO New Icon Button.png New button. Each existing permission group is displayed in the search area on the left.
  • The Full checkbox.png full checkbox indicates that all of the permissions in that section are enabled.
  • The Partial checkbox.png partial checkbox indicates that some of the permissions in that section are enabled.

Main section

The main section of the Permissions module has information about each permission group you have created. This information is found under the following column headers:

  • Name - The name of each permission group. Administrator will be there automatically, and it will apply to all Admin users. It has access to all features in Fishbowl Drive, and it can’t be changed, though users can be added to it. All other permission groups can be modified by clicking their line item.
  • Users - The number of users that are in each permission group and have access to its features.
  • Date Created - The month, day, and year (MM/DD/YYYY) that each permission group was created.

Action bar

The action bar in the main section of the Permissions module contains two buttons:

  • More - Click Change Dates to bring up two options you can change the date in the header to:
    • Date Created - A permanent marker that denotes when a permission group was first saved and added to the system.
    • Date Last Modified - A changeable marker that denotes the most-recent date that a permission group was edited by a user.
  • ADD NEW - Launch the New Permission Group page to create a new one.

NOTE: You can’t delete a permission group from the main section of the Permissions module. You can only do that by opening a permission group and then clicking the DELETE button in its action bar.

How to create a permission group

Click the ADD NEW button in the action bar to create a new permission group that you can add users to.

There are two tabs on the New Permission Group page:

  • Group - Enter a name for the permission group, and add users to it.
  • Permissions - Assign access rights to the permission group.

Group tab

In the Group tab, there is a single required field to fill out:

  • Name* - The identifying name of the permission group. It can be anything, such as the name of the department it applies to (e.g., Sales, Accounting, Warehouse) or the modules it includes (e.g., Customers, Dashboard, Inventory, Items, Shipping, etc.)

The Users section is under the Name field. This enables you to add users to the permission group. They can only be added one at a time. You can find a user by either typing their name into the search bar to narrow down the results, or by clicking the search bar, scrolling down through the list of users, and clicking the one you want.

When you have selected a user, click the blue ADD button to the right of the search bar. Then they will be added to the list below. Each user’s name and email address will appear in the list.

Only existing users can be added to a permission group. You can’t add new users from here. That can only be done from the Users module.

Permissions tab

In the Permissions tab, you choose all of the access rights that users in the permission group will have. For example, you can click the checkbox next to a module group, such as General or Sales, to give users access to every feature within all of the modules under it. Or you can get more specific and only assign access rights to specific modules or features within those modules.

Here are all of the clickable access rights you can select in the Permissions tab:

NOTE: The following reports are not currently on the list of individual access rights: Barcode, Inventory Event History, Item Barcode Label, Item Barcode One Off, Location Barcode, Margin, On Hand By Expiration, Purchase Order Summary, and Sales Order Summary. These can be accessed by clicking the main Reports checkbox. This enables all reports to be accessed by users in the permission group, even though they are not listed individually.

Permission group action bar

Before you leave a new permission group, you will want to save it. You can do this by using the buttons in the action bar. The following buttons are in the action bar of a permission group:

  • SAVE - This saves the permission group to the system and lets you continue working on it.
  • SAVE AND CLOSE - This saves the permission group to the system and returns you to the main section of the Permissions module where you will see all of your saved permission groups.
  • DELETE - This opens a popup for you to delete the permission group (after it’s been saved) by clicking the red DELETE button on the bottom-right of the popup.
  • X - This closes the permission group without saving it. If there are unsaved changes, a message will ask if you want to save before closing.

Permissions overview